Asherman’s Syndrome

Another diagnosis to add to my infertility lineup. Premature ovarian failure, diminished ovarian reserve, low AMH, MTHFR C677T/C677T, and Asherman’s syndrome. I am so glad my doc required a meeting yesterday. He explained to us with the visual aid of the internal ultrasound in live time that my entire uterus is collapsed upon itself and stuck tight with scar tissue. Luckily, the cervix is open, so he doesn’t have to create a new one (sounds like fun, right).

He explained that he must stay in the right position during surgery so he can open up my uterus and “create some real estate.” He feels it would be beneficial to grow the endometrium as much as possible because that can provide a guideline for his incisions. I’ll be on estrogen for 21 days followed by prometrium for 5, then surgery, followed by another round of the same meds and a possible second surgery. Surgery will be laparoscopic, through my belly button and another port below my bikini line so he can get a good hold on everything. This also means my belly will be filled with gas to increase the area in sight. Yup, I’m nervous about it. Read more on Asherman’s and treatment here: http://www.ashermans.org/information/stages-of-ashermans/

How did it happen? It often occurs after trauma to the uterus from surgery (such as the two D&C’s I had to remove my placenta after baby J’s delivery). The question mark is why did my placenta stick in the first place? Maybe I am predisposed to scarring and there was nothing that could’ve been done to prevent it. I know the diagnosis could’ve been much worse.

My hubby has been a rock. He has faith that we will get through this. His love makes me stronger.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maternalstateofmind
    May 20, 2015 @ 10:40:18

    Well that doesnt sound fun and its certainly not fair. But thank god there is something you can do about it and it sounds like you are in great hands. Ill be thinking about you. xx

    Reply

  2. Lauren
    May 21, 2015 @ 13:00:29

    Oh friend! I’m so glad you got to process with your doctor, but this is hard. Let me know what you need!

    Reply

  3. Caroline
    May 26, 2015 @ 15:37:46

    So glad your husband is so supportive!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: FET eve. | One Percent Chance
  5. Trackback: Where am I now? Exactly, what ARE we doing? | One Percent Chance

Leave a comment