IUI #2 delayed

We used the same protocol for this IUI as the last (letrozole cd 3-7) and I ended up with another no LH surge ultrasound on a Sunday morning. This time, I didn’t have one monster-size follicle that was beginning to ovulate, I had a large number of small ones. My hubby was watching the ultrasound screen I couldn’t see this time and he said he counted around 10-12. There were six larger ones, with the largest of those only being 12 mm. (4 follicles 10 mm each in right ovary; 1 follicle 11 mm and 1 follicle 12 mm in left) They want to see them at least at 18mm before triggering ovulation. With six, they are concerned about multiples, so I will continue using OPKs and will also be monitored over this next week, starting with another ultrasound on Tuesday morning.

Hopefully, a couple of those six take charge and dominate, growing nicely over the next few days so we can have the best chance at success this cycle. It feels so strange to talk about my body like this. There is so much our bodies do while we are oblivious to it all. If only I could go back to being oblivious…

Update: The ultrasound Tuesday morning showed no progress. Lining at 5.8. I get to keep testing and do another ultrasound Thursday. (left ovary: 12mm, 9mm, 9mm – right ovary: 10mm, 10mm)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Nov 13, 2012 @ 07:08:30

    I miss not knowing what’s going on with my body too! 6 follicles? I guess that’s a pretty good response for your AMH, right?

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Nov 13, 2012 @ 23:32:44

      I guess so… That’s a positive point I hadn’t thought about yet. I’d just like to know why I’m ovulating so late this month and why none of them have grown any in the last 48 hours…

      Reply

Leave a comment