First bruise – oops!

The luteal HCG shots were intimidating for me since I had never given a shot to anyone or anything before. After our training at the clinic, I felt that I would probably depend on my hubby since I stuck myself in the thumb almost immediately. Once the day for my first shot came, I decided that I needed to give myself a chance, because if we were ever to venture into IVF, I would need to have confidence in myself to do it.

First shot was just fine! No problem. No bruising. Easy peasy, yay!

Second shot, I did too fast, I think. It hurt and I ended up with a nice little bruise right where the band on all of my pants rests. I was constantly adjusting all day. 

Lesson learned! I’ll try it a bit slower and maybe a little bit further away from the previous injection sites. One more to go tomorrow morning and then progesterone checks and in a week and a half, HPT!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 21:14:48

    I guess I just don’t understand why you’re trying so hard to fight nature. If you were told you have a one percent chance of conceiving, why are you ignoring that and fighting those astronomical odds?

    Why not adopt instead? There are hundreds of thousands, maybe more, waiting to be adopted…

    Respectfully,

    Kelly

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 21:36:51

      Hi Kelly,
      Yes, adoption is another option for us.

      First, have you been diagnosed with infertility?
      Have you experienced the loss of a child through miscarriage? (A miscarriage that was actually from a natural pregnancy that you were told would never happen.)
      Have you looked into your husband’s eyes as you have told him a) you are not pregnant, b) you are diagnosed infertile, c) your tests are all normal, d) his tests are extraordinarily super, OR e) your baby no longer has a heartbeat?

      If you can’t answer “yes” to these things, you probably won’t understand why I am “fighting” for the best of what is left of my ovaries. You probably won’t understand my desire to give my loving, amazing, understanding, and supportive husband a chance to have a biological child.

      Yes, adoption is an option and we have entertained the thought on more than one occasion. My diagnosis is based on one hormone level and the “one percent chance” is a quote from a very negative reproductive endocrinologist with whom I have since parted ways. There are women out here in this world that are given a snap judgement diagnosis with no real reason for the failure of their young ovaries. I am not a push-over or a quitter. I am willing to fight and get bruises for the chance to have my husband’s baby.

      Judge me as you like.

      Reply

    • Erin
      Oct 25, 2012 @ 06:40:48

      Kelly, since you seem to have such a positive opinion of adoption I hope you adopt someday. It is not the responsibilty of we infertiles to adopt just because we have to work harder to have children. Adoption isn’t any easier or cheaper than fertility treatments and certainly isn’t for everyone. It is a very personal choice but I do hope everyone who wants a child gets a child. How ever they chose to go about it.

      Reply

  2. Erin
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 06:43:32

    If you don’t follow mybumovaries.blogspot.com you should. She has POF and just got her BFP from an IUI. Great positive success story. Thinking of you, fingers crossed.

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Oct 25, 2012 @ 17:24:14

      Woah!! I had been following her but hadn’t checked in this week : ) How exciting! Thanks for spreading the joy! Of course, know that you are in my thoughts often as well. I put the handful that I follow into a “family” tab. You certainly feel like family.

      Reply

  3. Erin
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 12:03:02

    Hope everything is going good….

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Nov 05, 2012 @ 09:37:01

      AF came last Monday, so we’re on another letrozole IUI course for this month. We’ll meet with our doc again if this IUI doesn’t have our desired results and regroup for our next step (maybe IVF).
      You are in my thoughts, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

