26 weeks tomorrow… and celebrating every day I’m still pregnant!

Baby will be 26 weeks tomorrow. Another step closer to being fully developed. Last Thursday was a big day at work. I drank over 64 ounces of water and figured baby was tired just like me. I woke up once in the middle of the night to do what I usually do in the middle of the night (emptying some of the 64 ounces) and he moved a little, not much, but a little. In the morning, I walked the dog, had my normal breakfast of cereal with milk and a glass of orange juice, and began my drive to work… all without feeling any movement from our babe. After consulting with my mother, I called the on-call physician who advised I go straight to the hospital to get things checked. A quick stop at work to get things prepped and off I was to the hospital, Labor and Delivery to be exact for decreased fetal movement. Emotions were so high. I was so afraid. It was not time yet.

I hadn’t pre-registered yet, so now that paperwork is done. I hadn’t toured the hospital, so now I know where to go. I was so not ready and neither was baby. It turned out that I was dehydrated and as soon as I got some water and monitors attached, he started attacking the monitor as usual. 

Lesson learned. Stay hydrated. Take it easy. When in doubt, get some protein and water and lay down on my left side in a quiet room to focus on his movements. 

Thanks for all your thoughts and prayers. He has quite a support system already!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maternalstateofmind
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 10:00:42

    Sooo relieved baby is a-ok! How scary :(
    Congrats on the 26-week mark and yay for a happy and healthy pregnancy!

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Oct 30, 2013 @ 10:10:10

      Thanks! Can you believe how close your due date is getting? The countdown is on!

      Reply

      • maternalstateofmind
        Oct 30, 2013 @ 11:34:06

        I know! It’s crazy! Some days I think it’s right around the corner (and I get excited and then freak out! ha) and other days I cant believe I have to wait almost 3 more months to meet my little guy!

        I really thought most of the stress of something happening to the baby would taper off after the 20wk appt, but this whole kick count thing brings on a whole new level of anxiety!

        So excited, though! …for both of us! :)

  2. fromheretomotherhood
    Oct 30, 2013 @ 11:06:31

    Very relieved that the baby is ok! It is so frightening when you don’t feel baby moving for awhile or as much as usual. As I’ve now passed my due date, I find myself becoming paranoid about it because I keep thinking that she should be “on the outside” so I can visually see that she is ok instead of needing to wait to see if she’ll cooperate and give me a kick when I need her to most.

    Reply

  3. Erin
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 09:14:53

    Just hang in there a little longer. You’re almost there…. but from what I’ve heard your worrying days have just begun! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

