24-week appointment

Beginning at 125 lbs., losing 5 lbs., and steadily gaining since about 9 weeks, the scale measured 142 lbs. today. The actual words out of my doc’s mouth were, “Did you really gain 12 lbs. in one month?” Yes. Yes, I did. As did my mother and my grandmother during their pregnancies. :) That being said, she reassured me that my total weight gain is totally within reason. I’m certainly not worried.

Baby boy was moving all around during the doppler exam to hear his heart beat. Just as she ask my hubby if he was able to feel the movements, too, the doppler was kicked by our feisty boy!

I had one question that went unanswered. Why am I losing hair? There is a good deal of hair in the drain after I shower and another large amount in the sink when I’m done drying my hair. Today, putting the bed sheets in the wash, I noticed the amount of my hair on the sheets… and they were just washed a week ago. The doc suggested we test my thyroid at the next appointment at the same time blood is drawn for the glucose test. Other than that, she figures I could just be the one who breaks the standard thick, voluptuous hair during pregnancy rule.

All in all, I can’t complain. This wiggly one appears to be healthy and that is all that matters to us. Lots of love to all of you!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph Mignon
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 21:57:07

    Congrats! 24-weeks must feel like a huge milestone! I hope to get there myself. :)

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Oct 17, 2013 @ 16:56:19

      The time really goes by quickly. I thought it was dragging until my mother said, “You should enjoy this time. It’s the one time that you are the only one carrying them.” The more I thought about it, the more right she was. There is no one else getting my baby time right now. Just me. : ) Loving it!

      Reply

  2. fromheretomotherhood
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 10:08:43

    Glad to hear things are going well with baby! I have doubled the minimum recommended weight gain during this pregnancy (so I’m ~15 lbs above the maximum recommended weight gain). I didn’t feel so bad though because I have plenty of friends who gained the same amount. Last night I watched a pvr’d episode of Biggest Loser and one of the contestants revealed that her food addiction led her to gain 125 lbs during pregnancy! I was pretty floored by that number and thankful that I’m almost done at 50 lbs. I always reasoned that if the doctor isn’t concerned then I don’t have to be either. So rock your 12 lbs and continue to have the same attitude :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

