18 weeks and need shower advice

The bump is no longer hiding! Yes, it might still look like I ate a whole lasagna by myself, but it’s definitely there. Loving every minute. Only another week before we have our anatomy ultrasound.

So, here is the debate: with a due date of February 6, when is the best time for baby showers? We plan to have Thanksgiving with his family and Christmas with mine. Both our families are out of state, so we would be traveling (by car). I’m guessing that planning to travel for a shower in January would be a bad idea. December and November seem difficult to plan due to the holidays and the fact that most people will already be traveling to visit family, just like us. Do we go ahead with a December baby shower the weekend before or after Christmas? Do we plan an early December shower and have an early Christmas with our families? Do we have a shower sometime early in November?

Seriously, I appreciate any advice. Thanks for being my cheerleader and know that you are often in my thoughts!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maternalstateofmind
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 11:03:15

    Early November. January is too late and the time between T-giving and x-mas seem to always be crazy for people.

    Congrats on the ever-so-present bump! I appreciate your excitement, I am so happy to finally have a bump to show off (and to remind me that this is really happening). Now I just want to official POP! :)

    Are you going to find out the gender next week?

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 12:02:04

      Yeah, moving from a thick bump to a baby bump will be so exciting!
      We actually already know the gender due to all the testing we did, but I’m looking forward to having the gender confirmed next week. I guess it doesn’t seem real until you actually see those parts : )
      Thanks for the advice, too!

      Reply

  2. fromheretomotherhood
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 13:53:59

    omg I can’t believe you’re already 18 weeks! So exciting!

    I had a shower early (22 weeks) because we flew to the east coast to see our families this summer and it’s an expensive, long flight, so I wasn’t going to be doing it again pre-baby. Friends of mine here where we live threw me one at 31 weeks because that’s what worked best for their schedules. So, depending on who would be throwing it for you, I would ask their opinion but also don’t feel afraid of making it work for you. It might mean some people can’t come, so maybe poll your friends and close family and if the ones you really want to be there can make it when you’d prefer, go with that! You’ll never suit everyone’s schedule. I’d personally prefer earlier rather than later because I’m a big planner and if you have your shower early it gives you more time to get anything else you need rather than scrambling last minute.

    Reply

  3. theyellowblanket
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 13:39:10

    I am hoping to have my shower (edd feb 8) in early Nov. Nobody has stepped up to plan the shower yet, though, so I’m getting nervous as to whether we’ll even have one!

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 20:21:39

      Feb 8!!! Our dates are so close! That’s awesome.
      I can’t wait to celebrate! I wanted to have a party already – not too concerned about the “shower” part, just want to savor every minute we get with this little one.

      Reply

  4. Erin
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 21:28:58

    No advice, just sayin’ hi.

    Reply

  5. bookwormmommy2013
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 10:31:04

    Great question! No advice here either though. We are due late February so no idea when ours might be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

