What I Eat

Over the past 14 months, I have adjusted what I eat a few times. I made HUGE changes November of 2011 eating for Traditional Chinese Medicine, taking herbs along with acupuncture. After following that plan for 7 months, I made another change.

I met with a naturopath who recommended I continue to steer clear of dairy but that I also stay away from gluten and wheat. I started that very day and noticed changes after three days. My mind cleared up. I could follow a whole conversation without losing focus. I started to “get” jokes. I know, it doesn’t sound like that big of a deal, but for me, it is worth the adjustment. I have experimented with adding it back into my diet (once was accidental) and I end up with a nasty stomach ache.

After staying away from dairy for over a year, I began adding it back. The result? Abdominal pain. Sad day.

I also adjusted my vitamins. The naturopath suggested I begin a whole slew of supplements which led me to buying a weekly pill organizer with a separate area for AM and PM doses. Some of which were chaste, evening primrose oil, vitamin D, calcium/magnesium, and DHEA in addition to a four-pill-a-dose prenatal.

I have stopped the chaste and DHEA. I felt the DHEA was making my scalp burning hot and sensitive. I also felt that I was losing much more hair than normal when I began the IUI cycles. My scalp is significantly less sensitive and the excessive hair loss has let up. Due to my MTHFR homozygous c677t diagnosis, I have added folate but not folic acid.

I changed my prenatal to a food-based vitamin so the folate is food-based so it is more easily used. I have added an additional folate as methylfolate, b-12 as methylcobalamin, and b-6 as p-5-p (pyridoxal-5′-phosphate). All these forms of b vitamins are more easily used.

So, for the question “what DO you eat?”
I eat anything I want whenever I want. I just avoid dairy, gluten, and wheat. Yes, I also avoid processed foods (including caffeine and sugar) as much as possible, too.

Is it worth it?
If my health and happiness isn’t worth it, what is?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asgreen
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:59:49

    I just gave up dairy, wheat caffeine, and processed food. (I have been cutting back for a while now.) While I really miss pizza it has been great so far. It is also not as difficult as I thought it would be. I need to plan a bit more, but totally worth it.

    Reply

  2. thebarrenyears
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 00:55:49

    I avoided processed food, caffeine & alcohol but mostly just tried to be healthy as part of my not wanting to look back & say I wish I’d tried x or y. It never made me feel different so it’s great you noticed x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

