IVF Meds – Opinions welcome!

Okay, here is the list. Please share with me your experience with any of these.

before retrieval (enough for up to 10 days)
Menopur 150 units/day
Follistim 225 units/day
Saizen 2 vials of 8.8 mg
Ganirelex 5 syringes (to prevent ovulation)
 
after transfer
Progesterone (PIO shots through pregnancy test, then can switch to crinone or other that I didn’t write down)
Estrogen (estrace and vivelle patches)
14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WTW
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 18:30:22

    Of those, I’ve only taken Menopur. Stings when you inject it so I’ve heard that if you ice the area first it helps (found this out after my cycle!). The tricky part is mixing it but you get the hang of it pretty quickly. For progesterone I used prometrium capsules. Looking forward to cheering you on with your cycle!

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Jan 09, 2013 @ 18:35:59

      Thanks for the advice! Another question, what did you think of the prometrium?

      Reply

      • WTW
        Jan 11, 2013 @ 18:43:06

        Prometrium or any type of vaginal suppository is nasty…there is no getting around it! Very messy and you feel like you are leaking constantly. However, I guess it did the trick! I’d still take the prometrium over giant needles of PIO!

  2. thebarrenyears
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 00:53:00

    I didn’t respond to menopur v well so was only on gonal f which I presume is like your follistim so hopefully your drs have tailored your drugs to you xx

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 20:58:09

      Yeah, hopefully! I haven’t tried much other than letrozole and menopur. Letrozole three times and menopur once. The second time on letrozole alone I didn’t respond so they added the menopur…. I guess we’ll see how it goes!

      Reply

  3. Erin
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 13:08:39

    I used saizen with my IVF cycle too. I couldn’t find anyone else who had taken it. Though I didn’t get pregnant the doctor said he thought the saizen had made a difference with my embryo quality. It did give me wicked body aches though. My pharmacy was pretty cheap, the doc said it would be an extra 1500 bucks but it was only 220. Hope all goes well

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 20:54:26

      Oh, wow! What pharmacy did you use? My docs are estimating the same price you were told. Ouch!

      Reply

      • Erin
        Jan 12, 2013 @ 06:47:25

        It’s a local pharmacy but they do mail order. It’s part of our local university hospital network. The university of Utah redwood pharmacy. 801-213-9950. They seem to have very reasonable prices

      • There Is A Chance
        Jan 12, 2013 @ 09:49:16

        Thank you for the number! I will definitely ask about using another pharmacy if I can save that much!

      • There Is A Chance
        Jan 29, 2013 @ 20:39:39

        I’m so sad! I contacted them yesterday and the prices were going to be so much better… but when my prescriptions were faxed to them today, they said they only fill prescriptions for those under university care : ( Thanks, anyway!

  4. Lucy
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 10:30:44

    I’ve used most of these and didn’t have any noticeable side effects. Due to low AMH, my doctor had me on a higher dose of Menopur and Gonal F (same as Follistim) – 150 and 450 units respectively. I only had 5 mature follicles, but my AMH is very low, so this wasn’t a bad result. The next cycle, he will change my doses to 300 units each, but still keep the total at 600 units, and add in lupron to see if we can bump the follicle count up a bit. The progesterone shots aren’t fun, and they burn a bit going in and leave your muscle sore for a few hours, but they are not as scary as they seem and you get used to them. I think these are believed by some clinics to be more effective than the suppositories (which I’ve also used and they are more pleasant than the shots, despite being kind of gross).

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Jan 22, 2013 @ 18:44:31

      Thanks for all the info, Lucy. I am guessing that my doc isn’t worried about overstimulating because of my low AMH. I don’t know that we’d consider doing more than one IVF if things don’t go really well, but if we do, I’ll make sure to ask about add the lupron. When do you start your next cycle?

      Reply

      • Lucy
        Jan 23, 2013 @ 11:54:59

        Probably sometime in mid February. I have to wear estrogen patches for two weeks first, which I will start around the end of the month. What’s your schedule?

    • There Is A Chance
      Jan 23, 2013 @ 16:47:33

      Lucy, I’ll find out once AF finally comes… it seems to take forever when you’re waiting on it : ) Once it begins, I will have 10-14 days (starting on day 3) of BC pills then up to 10 days of stims.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

