Luteal HCG

Anybody heard of it? I don’t see much information out there, so here is my experience so far. 

I am scheduled to have an HCG shot every three days after my IUI. I was nervous when I received the box of syringes and needles at my door, but it wasn’t all that bad. The stick was hardly a pinch and by recommendation from a you.tube video, I pushed the plunger slowly rather than forcing all the medication in quickly. I haven’t noticed any side effects from the HCG other than breaking out everywhere, but that was happening before the injection (maybe it’s from the letrozole I took on days 3-7?). 

The IUI nurse told me that the luteal HCG will encourage the corpus luteum to make all those things that support the “pregnancy” that will hopefully be happening very soon, including progesterone. They will then do bloodwork on the last day of HCG injections and three days after as well to check the progesterone level. With these injections, I am told not to take a home pregnancy test until 12 days after my last shot. Hoping for a quick trip to 20 days past IUI and a +HPT, please : )

Update: The luteal HCG gave me lots of pregnancy symptoms, of course (hot flashes, a little nausea, light-headed, super hungry, unusually tired, tender breasts/nipples, gas, mild constipation). I was worried I wouldn’t be able to wait to 17 dpiui, but my next cycle started exactly one week after my last HCG shot, no need to test (bbt fell from 98.2 to 97.3). My progesterone was quite high, so it did serve its purpose.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Oct 18, 2012 @ 14:30:55

    I’ve heard of ladies getting hcg “boosters after IVF and IUI. I had a lupron “booster” after my fresh IVF but could never find any info about it anywhere nor any women who had done one. I’ve heard of hcg boosters far more often. Hope it works!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

