Low AMH

I have asked many questions, searched medical resources, and poured through fertility clinics’ websites. As far as I understand, AMH, the Anti Mullerian Hormone, relates to ovarian reserve – quantity of eggs, response to fertility drugs, and chances of a natural, healthy pregnancy. There appear to be at least two different scales for AMH: from 0-6.8 ng/ml and from 0-48.5 pmol/L. There are also differing opinions on what is determined as low AMH or normal. If you have another AMH scale, post to let me know! I’m intrigued to find out.

I am in the process of understanding the diagnosis of Low AMH. I am also trying acupuncture, herbs, diet, and abdominal massage because I was told there were no treatments to improve low AMH.

Stick with me and I’ll share anything I come across!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thebarrenyears
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 04:54:17

    I need to do a blog post on this, low AMH was the killer diagnosis for me, the one that nearly broke me. Basically I have now concluded its the don’t hang around but I have to focus on. I take dhea, my egg quality has been good at both ivfs I eat healthily & hope a lot!
    Look foward to hearing what else you find out
    Xx

    Reply

  2. Lucy
    Oct 09, 2012 @ 10:52:19

    Thanks for this blog. I just found it today. I am 34 and have been TTC for 2 years. A few weeks ago, I was diagnosed with low AMH. My level is .17, and a second test came back with a level of .29. My antral follicle count is completely normal, as are my other hormone levels. I have had three miscarriages and after begging my clinic to perform every test they can think of to determine a cause, they finally came up with this one – a little late in my opinion. I have received conflicting information about whether low AMH affects egg quality – my RE says there is only evidence to suggest it affects egg quantity – yet my follicle counts are normal, which it sounds like yours are too? I am planning to visit two doctors for second opinions – Dr. Davis at Cornell and Dr. Stephenson at Univ. of Illinois, the latter of whom specializes in recurrent pregnancy loss. I will continue to follow your blog and will share anything I learn.

    I wish you all the best, Lucy

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Oct 09, 2012 @ 20:45:18

      Hi Lucy! Yes, with all of our “normal” test results in every other area, it’s difficult to figure out how the AMH relates only to quantity and not quality. I certainly will look forward to hearing about your second opinions. Thanks for sharing your story and I wish

        you

      all the best, too!

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Where am I now? Exactly, what ARE we doing? | One Percent Chance

Leave a Reply

