Eating for TCM

I mentioned I began a diet to aide Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) with herbs from my acupuncturist. To summarize the diet, I avoid eating foods with little nutritional value and opt for nutrient dense foods, focusing on eating whole foods. The first step for me was avoiding white sugar, white flour, white rice, white potatoes, and all dairy. I have exchanged my cow’s milk for rice milk. Almond milk, soy milk, and coconut milk were other options, but I by far preferred the taste of rice milk. From the guidelines, goat’s milk and cheese are okay to eat and I do like to taste of the goat cheese, but I have yet to sample the goat milk.

I avoid processed foods the best I can and have been making my own breads at home using honey instead of sugar and water instead of milk. I have added pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, hazelnuts/filberts, and almonds to my cabinet staples and I try them with my cooked greens. I discovered a love for kale and collard greens when sauteed with red onions, olive oil, and garlic with a few red pepper flakes.

That is another part of the diet: making sure all veggies are at least slightly cooked and not eating anything straight from the fridge. I was told this was so my body didn’t have to expend the energy to warm it before digestion. If that allows my body to focus its energy on keeping me healthy and making a family, it’s a small price to pay.

Leave a Reply

