Depo Provera

I am not sure why this method of birth control is approved for use.

The first four weeks after my first shot, I was fine. The rest is a different story. After those four weeks, I bled for four weeks, had 1.5 weeks without, then another two weeks of bleeding. I read that spotting was normal, but I had to wear at the very least a liner and change it often during this whole time.

After those first four weeks, I had many other side effects which didn’t make me feel that I was myself. I felt “off” emotionally and psychologically. I also had physical concerns: aches and pains for no good reason, dry eyes and other things, and my vision changed substantially.

My Depo Provera shot was in February, lasting until May, but I didn’t have a period from May until August.

Now, I find out that my ovaries are failing prematurely.

I am told that Depo Provera had nothing to do with it. I have a hard time believing that.

Please don’t do this to yourself.

Learn from my mistake.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coupletryingtogetpregnant
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 14:44:00

    Like you I’m unsure how the Depo Provera has been approved! I had one injection and I put on a lot of weight and now going thought more nightmares, after it than while I was on it, Now trying to get pregnant with no luck…. yet!

    I can see this blog was written nearly a year ago, How are you now? back to “normal”?

    Reply

    • There Is A Chance
      Nov 10, 2012 @ 14:58:22

      My feelings about Depo Provera still have not changed. Worst thing I have ever done to my body.
      My cycles were “back to normal” length in September of the same year (first and only Depo shot in February). Over two years later, we’ve encountered a premature ovarian failure diagnosis (due to a low AMH) and had one natural pregnancy that ended in miscarriage. We’ve been trying ever since my cycles returned to a normal length. Just before our natural pregnancy and miscarriage, I had come to grips with my diagnosis and we were moving forward with hope. It took 6 months after my miscarriage before I was able to really get hope back into the equation.
      I know that “normal” is a matter of perspective, but I don’t feel that I will ever be the normal that I once was. I am forever changed with my diagnosis and miscarriage. I have decided to stop beating myself up about getting the Depo Provera shot. I finally realized there is no benefit to that anger. I have, however, spread the word about the negative effects I endured and have encouraged everyone I know to get their AMH tested before continuing any form of birth control. I probably never needed it in the first place.
      I certainly hope that you can read the rest of my journey and have courage to take control of your treatment/testing plan. Let me know if you want to chat about any of it. I would love to help you any way I can!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

